Call us at
+33 (0)6 89 45 03 19
(call us between 2:00 and 7:30 pm)
Follow us
  • White Facebook Icon
  • Flickr - White Circle

© 2019 by Observatoire du Chiran

THE ASTRONOMICAL NIGHT

During dinner at the refuge, interspersed with its unavoidable break to watch the sunset, we will also try to observe the green ray and the anti-twilit arch.

 

Once the night is well settled, finally comes the moment to observe the sky and its objects.

First with a laser to locate the main constellations and some features of the night landscape visible from the observatory, such as the lighthouses of Porquerolles and Saint-Tropez. Then we will finally go under the dome to observe through the telescope planets, nebulae, globular clusters, planetary nebulae, double stars and galaxies, as well as the Moon if it is present.

To observe the sky is to see so far that we look back in time and contemplate the past.

To observe the sky is also trying to understand the history of the universe and its evolution, to apprehend its size and its immensity, its matter and its composition ; it is to project oneself mentally away from the Earth and the solar system to become aware of our place in our galaxy... and beyond.
We will continue the evening as long as your motivation is present :-)

All the images of celestial objects that you see here were made with the Chiran telescope.

During the observation, since a few years, we are punctuated, at envy, the evening with musical interludes, thanks to many musical instruments present under the dome.
This year, Tiphaine joins astronomy and myself to bring her musical inspirations.
I'll let her talk to you about it.



Joseph Mordelet

An evening of astronomical observation carried up by notes of musical instruments, curious visitors can question Joseph and look in the telescope, while being carried up by improvised sounds, in the cupola with its particular acoustics.

 

Between the piano, singing, the guitars or the astonishing oscillations of the theremin, all connected to three effect pedals, the sensation of astronomical immensity can become palpable. This can help to reinforce the awareness of the expulsion of energies from colossal objects at unimaginable scales, in the outer space.

 

This is what we propose right now during our evenings at the observatory, an alliance between the understanding of the sky and immersive music.

Far from intentionally covering the passionate speech of Joseph the astronomer, my music and my singing simply complete, with a different dose every other night, the words of the latter, to even end up illustrating the various spatial events that he described as and when.

Of course, musical instruments under the dome are also at your disposal, and spontaneous musical participations are always welcome.

During the astronomy evening, do not hesitate to improvise or play some tunes.


Tiphaine Sson

A few words about the musical full Moons

In the full moon weeks, the observation of the sky is strongly limited by the important lunar light.
Indeed, the three days before and after the full Moon can see little more objects than the planets and the Moon of course, but contrary to what one might think, not in its best light.

The objects of the deep sky (nebulae, galaxies, planetary nebulae, globular clusters, and other remnants of supernovae ...), they are drowned in the important light that returns to us our natural satellite.

 

So, from this year on, we have chosen to use these astronomical weeks to offer nocturnal concerts in the open air or under the dome.

Numerous performances are on the way for the next summer weeks of clear nights, where music will occupy a preponderant place. We invite you to live the unique experience of an encounter with professional musicians, at the top of our mountain of almost 2000 meters, under a vast sky lit by the Moon. Go to the Full Moons to Music section on this site for more information.

Of course, the rest of the time, astronomy remains our mainspring.

 

 

Joseph Mordelet

Appelez-nous au
+33 (0)6 89 45 03 19
(téléphoner entre 14h00 et 19h30)
Follow us
  • White Facebook Icon
  • Flickr - White Circle
Photographies de
 Joseph Mordelet 
© Tous droits réservés

© 2019 by Observatoire du Chiran

LA SOIRÉE ASTRONOMIE

Pendant le repas au refuge, entrecoupé de son incontournable pause pour contempler le coucher de soleil, nous tenterons d’observer également le rayon vert et l’arche anti-crépusculaire.

 

Une fois la nuit bien installée, vient enfin le moment d’observer le ciel et ses objets.

D’abord à l’aide d’un laser pour repérer les principales constellations et quelques particularités du paysage nocturne visibles depuis l’observatoire, telles que les phares de Porquerolles et de Saint-Tropez. Nous irons enfin sous la coupole pour observer au télescope planètes, nébuleuses, amas globulaires, nébuleuses planétaires, étoiles doubles et galaxies, ainsi que la lune si elle est présente.

Observer le ciel, c’est voir si loin que nous regardons en arrière dans le temps et en contemplons les passés.

Observer le ciel, c’est aussi chercher à comprendre l’histoire de l’univers et son évolution, en appréhender la taille et l’immensité, la matière et sa composition ; c’est se projeter mentalement loin de la Terre et du système solaire pour prendre conscience de notre place dans notre galaxie… et au-delà.

Nous poursuivrons ainsi la soirée aussi longtemps que votre motivation sera présente :-)

Toutes les images des objets célestes que vous voyez ici ont été réalisées avec le télescope du Chiran.

Pendant l’observation, depuis quelques années, nous ponctuons à l’envie la soirée d’interludes musicaux, grâce à de nombreux instruments de musique présents sous la coupole.

Cette année, Tiphaine se joint à l’astronomie et moi-même pour y apporter ses inspirations musicales.

Je lui laisse le soin de vous en parler.

Joseph Mordelet

Une soirée d'observation astronomique portée par des notes d'instruments de musique, les visiteurs curieux peuvent questionner Joseph et regarder dans le télescope, tout en se laissant porter par des sons improvisés, dans la coupole avec son acoustique si particulière.

 

Entre le piano, le chant, les guitares ou encore les étonnantes oscillations du thérémine, le tout relié à trois pédales d'effet, la sensation d'immensité astronomique peut devenir palpable. Ce qui peut contribuer à renforcer la prise de conscience d'expulsion d'énergies d'objets colossaux à des échelles inimaginables, dans l'espace.

 

Tel est ce que nous proposons dès à présent au cours de nos soirées à l'observatoire, une alliance entre la compréhension du ciel et une musique immersive.

Loin de venir couvrir intentionnellement le discours passionné de Joseph l'astronome, ma musique et mon chant viennent simplement compléter, avec un dosage chaque soir différent, les paroles de ce dernier, jusqu'à même finir par illustrer les divers événements spatiaux qu'il décrit au fur et à mesure.

Bien sûr, les instruments de musique sous la coupole sont aussi à votre disposition, et les participations musicales spontanées sont toujours les bienvenues. 

 

Durant la soirée astronomie, n'hésitez pas à improviser ou à  jouer quelques airs.

Tiphaine Sson

Quelques mots sur les pleines Lunes en musique

Les semaines de pleine Lune, l'observation du ciel est fortement limitée par l'importante lumière lunaire.

En effet, les trois jours précédant et suivant la pleine Lune ne permettent de voir guère plus d'objets que les planètes et la Lune bien sûr, mais contrairement à ce que l'on pourrait penser, pas sous son meilleur jour.

Les objets du ciel profond (nébuleuses, galaxies, nébuleuses planétaires, amas globulaires, et autres rémanents de supernovæ...), sont eux noyés dans l'importante lumière que nous renvoie notre satellite naturel.

 

Nous avons donc choisi, à partir de cette année d'utiliser ces semaines peu propices à l'astronomie pour vous proposer des concerts nocturnes en plein air ou sous la coupole.

De nombreuses représentations sont en approche pour les prochaines semaines estivales de nuits claires, où la musique occupera une place prépondérante. Nous vous invitons à vivre l'expérience unique d'une rencontre avec des musiciens professionnels, au sommet de notre montagne de presque 2000 mètres, sous un vaste ciel éclairé par la Lune. Rendez-vous sur la rubrique Les pleines Lunes en musique sur ce site pour en savoir plus.

Bien évidement, le reste du temps, l'astronomie demeure notre raison d'être.

 

 

Joseph Mordelet